Don't confuse supplements with substitutes

Less procrastination, more money.

"Is your reading and research supplementing your actions or substituting for them? Research is useful until it becomes a form of procrastination."

James Clear

I see this problem with a lot of new investors. Especially those who pick individual stocks.

They’re investing money they probably can’t afford to lose, emotions are running high because money is at stake, and they’re nervous because investing is new to them.

So what do they do? They try to compensate by doing extra research, or more research than is required.

And while I don’t think there’s such a thing as “too much research” there is such a thing as unproductive research.

Because as James Clear says, reading and research is a good supplement, but normally serves as a substitute.

And it’s our job to keep it a supplement to our actions.

The easiest way to do this is by limiting yourself to the research tools that are required.

For me that’s Seeking Alpha.

I can see the analysis from other investors to supplement my own and/or support my research.

And to make sure I’m following the research of credible investors, I can see how their past picks have performed.

The normal price used to be $239/year.

But with my link you can get access for just $99/year on top of the free trial.

And let me know what you think.

Your friend,

Gav.